Loading Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events Search

Events List Navigation

Grease

Wed 19 Sep - Sat 29 Sep
The Theatre Royal

Grease is the original High-School musical, featuring all the unforgettable songs from the hit movie including ‘You’re The One That I Want’, ‘Grease Is The Word’, ‘Summer Nights’, ‘Hopelessly Devoted To You’, ‘Sandy’, ‘Greased Lightnin’ and many more.

Madagascar – A Musical Adventure Jr

Sun 30 Sep - Fri 5 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Based on the smash DreamWorks animated motion picture, Madagascar – A Musical Adventure Jr follows all of your favourite friends as they escape from their home in New York’s Central Park Zoo and find themselves on an unexpected journey to the madcap world of King Julien’s Madagascar.

The Cat In The Hat By Dr Seuss

Sat 6 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Everyone’s favourite cat comes to mischievous life in this theatrical adaptation of the Dr Seuss classic. Expect towering hats, mischief and an imagination recharge!

Nelson Arts Festival presents DRIFTWOOD

Thu 11 Oct - Fri 12 Oct
The Theatre Royal

This is a circus show that won’t let you forget what it is to be human, and in a moment of danger, how a grasping hold can be survival.

Nelson Arts Festival presents ROYAL NEW ZEALAND BALLET – Classical & Contemporary Favourites

Sat 13 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Watch the dancers of your national ballet company performing a specially curated programme of works, including classical and contemporary favourites.

Nelson Arts Festival presents SONGS FOR NOBODIES

Sun 14 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Share five life-changing encounters between legendary divas Judy Garland, Patsy Cline, Edith Piaf, Billie Holiday and Maria Callas, and the everyday women whose lives they touched, interspersed with their iconic songs.

Nelson Arts Festival presents LOBSTERS

Mon 15 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Inspired by the works of the great surrealist painters, Lobsters is a story about love itself, and the way we must peel away our shells to find our authentic selves.

Nelson Arts Festival presents ANN-DROID

Tue 16 Oct - Wed 17 Oct
The Theatre Royal

A 21st century Pinocchio that combines theatre with the newest digital technologies: projection, smart LED costume, robot ball and drone, in a fascinating story for all ages.

Nelson Arts Festival presents WILD DOGS UNDER MY SKIRT

Thu 18 Oct - Fri 19 Oct
The Theatre Royal

Samoan New Zealander Tusiata Avia’s poetry becomes a fearless and enchanting piece of theatre under the direction of Anapela Polata’ivao and a cast of six powerful Pasefika actresses.

Nelson Arts Festival presents RHIAN SHEEHAN: A QUIET DIVIDE

Sat 20 Oct - Sun 21 Oct
The Theatre Royal


Featuring a full band, a local string section and a dream-like montage of captivating visuals, time-lapse, portraits, animations, landscapes and starscapes, Rhian Sheehan creates a breath-taking son et lumière.

Social Climbers

Thu 8 Nov - Fri 9 Nov
The Theatre Royal

New Zealand’s most celebrated playwright Roger Hall pits a groups of female teachers together with a school counsellor and a reluctant daughter for a weekend of bushwalking, sparkling wine and sparkling comedy!

A Christmas Carol – Steampunk Style

Thu 15 Nov - Sat 24 Nov
The Theatre Royal

The Charles Dickens classic story of Ebenezer Scrooge is re-told with a twist, cogs and gears. Everything you’d expect from the well-loved story but told in a way you’ve never seen before.

+ Export Events