Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Events List Navigation

Open Day at the Theatre

Sat 24 Feb
The Theatre Royal

For the third year we are throwing open our doors and inviting you to step behind the scenes, giving you the opportunity to tread the boards of our stage. We will show you exactly how our theatre operates.

The Michael Jackson HIStory Show

Tue 27 Feb
The Theatre Royal

Showtime Australia presents this spectacular music tribute and full-scale stage production honouring the one and only King of Pop, Michael Jackson.

Musical Theatre – A History in Song

Fri 2 Mar - Sat 3 Mar
The Theatre Royal

Enjoy two wonderful evenings of Musical Theatre highlights from the composing debut of Cole Porter to the latest Broadway sensations!

The Full Monty The Broadway Musical

Thu 22 Mar - Sat 31 Mar
The Theatre Royal

The 1997 film of “The Full Monty” stormed the box office and became the most successful British screen comedy ever, winning the Evening Standard Award for Best Film. The faithful stage adaptation won the same award in 2001 for Best Musical.

Aesop’s Falables & Holy Moses!

Sat 7 Apr
The Theatre Royal

Nelson Youth Theatre Company presents a double-bill with Aesop’s Falables – a fun filled show suitable for the whole family and Holy Moses! A musical journey through plagues, the Passover, the Exodus and the Ten Commandments through clever lyrics and memorable music.

The Phantom of the Opera

Sun 8 Apr - Sat 21 Apr
The Theatre Royal

The winner of seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical, The Phantom of the Opera has been seen by over 100 million people in 144 cities in 27 countries. The Phantom of the Opera is the longest-running show in Broadway history, still currently running in London and New York.

Disney’s Alice in Wonderland Jr

Sun 15 Apr - Fri 20 Apr
The Theatre Royal

Travel down the rabbit hole and join Alice, one of literature’s most beloved heroines, in her madcap adventures. Featuring updated songs from Disney’s thrilling animated motion picture, Disney’s Alice in Wonderland Jr is a fast-paced take on the classic tale.

Zulu Love

Thu 26 Apr - Fri 27 Apr
The Theatre Royal

Zulu Love is a Johannesburg (South Africa) based band starring some of Soweto’s top musicians. Nelsonians will remember them as the incredible vocalists from last year’s sold-out performances of Stimela the Musical.

Moscow Ballet La Classique presents The Nutcracker

Sat 12 May
The Theatre Royal

Following 2017 sell-out performances of Swan Lake, Moscow Ballet la Classique returns to New Zealand to present the jewel of classical ballet, Tchaikovsky’s spectacular masterpiece The Nutcracker

Heath Franklin’s Chopper – Bogan Jesus

Tue 29 May
The Theatre Royal

There is a new ‘mo-ssiah’ for a new age and he’s holier than Oscar Pistorius’ bathroom door. Thou shalt harden up and become a Chopostle! So gather round and be healed by Chopper’s Bogan Jesus!

The Naked Truth

Wed 13 Jun - Sat 16 Jun
The Theatre Royal

Tailor-made for women, The Naked Truth is the next unmissable Comedy Play from Dave Simpson, the writer of the hit comedy Girls Night Out. It is a brilliant funny play about sisterhood.

+ Export Events